A Culture Of Family

The start of the school year still brings a blend of angst and excitement to me even though I no longer have a classroom. I think one reason for this is that I always find several emails in my inbox from people who have had me as a facilitator for their PD. Sometimes these are recent participants and sometimes it has been years since I worked with them. This post is the result of one of those emails. I use this strategy in the Professional Development I facilitate so participants can immerse themselves in the power of this simple approach to building a collaborative and supportive culture in a classroom.

Photo by Julia M Cameron on Pexels.com

Family Name Banners

Step One-Observation

When students walk into my classroom on the very first day of class I allow them to sit wherever they want. These first few days are all about building a community and I have found that this is one way to alleviate the start of school nerves. I use this as an opportunity to see who sits with whom and I make mental notes as I walk to each table group of four.

Step Two -Forming a Family

After several days of sitting in this configuration, I explain the concept of table families to my students. I also explain how we will form our families.

  1. First find someone you know and would like to sit with.
    • I have already identified students who may have difficulty pairing up in this first step. I have either identified them as watchers who look to pair up with someone who seems new or lost. This puts them in a position of positive power.
    • I also establish myself as the safe place if you need help finding this first partner b saying something like “If you need a little help finding this partner come stand with me.”
  2. Now as a pair find another pair that you do not know or do not know well.
    • For this step I have prearranged some kindness duos. I have a private discussion with a few students who seem to have big hearts and welcoming affects. I tell them I may need their help making during all are welcome. If I see a pair struggling to find another pair I will give the kindness duo a signal to join up with this pair.
      • By prearranging this scenario, I can turn what might have been an uncomfortable situation into one of welcome and I have provided the kindness duo an acknowledgment of a skill that is sorely needed in our society.
      • Note: Although I always prepare for this, I rarely had to use it.
  3. Once you have your family of four find a table and sit at it.
  4. Have a getting to know you activity/task at each table. For example find 3 things you have in common and 2 differences that make you interesting.

Step 3-Creation of a Family Tent/Banner

  1. Once families are situated in their new “home”table, I share the directions for the Family Banner.
    • Create a name for your family that meets the following criteria
      • Has at least one initial from each person’s name.
        • Write down your first and last initial
        • Post its work great for this. And it adds a kinesthetic element to this part of the activity.
      • You may add other letters (vowels almost always have to be added) to create a name once everyone’s initial(s) are included.
      • The name should be respectful of everyone in the classroom.
        • No negative cultural/gender inferences
  2. Check your name with the teacher.
  3. Once the name is created identify a slogan and an image/mascot for your family.
  4. Together create a banner/name tent using your name, slogan, and image.
  5. You can also have the students create an affirmation such as a chant or clap. They will use this to acknowledge one another’s efforts.
    • you can also choose a table family’s affirmation to be the classroom affirmation of the day.
  6. Allow students several days to complete their banner/name tent.
    • I opted for the name tents and used 8×11 card stock for them. This made it much easier to change family names between periods.
      • Option 1-stack all of a table’s tents in the middle and rotate the name for each period.
      • Option 2- have someone be in charge of keeping the tent in their binder and putting it out at the start of each day.
      • Option 3- stack all tents by period and have one student from each family pick it up at the start of the day.

Step 4-Utilizing Table Families to Build Engagement and Foster a Collaborative Culture

Using a deck of cards with Family Tables.

Photo by Israel Garcia on Pexels.com
  • In my practice I had 9 table families of 4 students each. I used a deck of playing cards to integrate best practices when asking for student responses.
    • First I would pull cards from the ace to the number nine in one suit, let’s say hearts. These numbers would represent the 9 table families. Then, I would pull cards from the ace to the number 4 in another suit, let’s say spades. These numbers would represent the seat position at each table.
    • Then I would ask a question and provide think or think and ink time (anywhere from 10-30 second).
    • Next I would have all table groups share their thoughts (another 30 seconds) among their family.
    • Only then would I pull a card from the 1-9 set of cards. If I pulled a 3 then the Table Family at table 3 would be responsible for sharing their thoughts/answer.
    • I would then give this table 30 seconds to prep everyone in their family to feel confident in sharing their answer.
      • the remaining table families would use this time to verify their responses in case more answers would be needed.
      • This allows for repetition and the creation of long term memory
      • It also lowers the anxiety of being on the spot because it allows for collaboration and rehearsal.
    • Next I would pull a card from the seat position stack and that is the person who would reply to the question.
    • If I asked another question this process would be repeated. However the person who answered the previousquestion would get to pull the cards.
    • If an answer was insufficient I would acknowledge the thinking of the entire family table and ask them to build on it. I could add a redirect question at this time as well. I would then give the entire table family another 30 seconds to revise their response and have the same person deliver the answer.
    • All of the family tables would also revisit their responses to check for accuracy and build on their thinking.
    • The chosen table family could request the help of their extended family if they are stuck after the second attempt.

Benefits of this approach to asking questions.

  1. Community Building
  2. Repetition for increased memory
  3. Engagement of All Students
  4. Interconnectedness
  5. Growth Mindset
  6. Integrated think time
  7. Equitable calling on students